Remember Their World

I normally don’t blog on the weekend due to just stepping back and giving my brain a break, but I missed a few days this past week due to pure exhaustion from a very whirl wind week at work. I just noticed the alliteration there, sorry. Anyways, I also can’t help the emotions I am feeling on this cold Saturday night.

While driving back home tonight with my family we came across another family who had hit a deer. We slowed down to make sure no one was hurt or needed a phone to call the police. I think the buck they hit was bigger than their car. Myself being a hunter I wanted to weep because of the sheer size of the buck they hit. Well, everyone was doing fine and the police were already on their way. As I was speeding away, my four year old son was really concerned about the dead deer. He kept telling my wife and I that the deer was going to miss his family and he really wanted to know where his family was. Needless to say, my heart was melting and I had to fight back a few tears. My son knows at four years old how important family is and what it means to miss someone. We eventually convinced our son that his family would be okay and what was important is that the humans were not injured. Not a small task when you figure in a four year old.

This whole episode made me recall a conversation I had with a few colleagues about a student who we have all been having trouble with in our classrooms. We all have had students like this in the past. Whether it is a class clown, an attitude problem, or a child who just refuses to learn; these types of students can make or break our day as a teacher. These students usually make us go into a rage about what we’re going to do or what is wrong with this child, maybe it even makes us take an occasional glance at their files in the office to gain some insight into what makes them tick.

This past week I was reminded not to forget where some kids come from. What do I mean? Most of us go home to our families and we see our spouses, kids, the dog or cat and sit down to a nice meal with each other. We have a nice warm bed to turn into at night and our bellies our more than likely full. Their are students out their in all of our classrooms that don’t get these luxuries. Students come from split homes, sometimes have to watch their younger siblings, and might even have to cook supper. How about those students who have parents that can’t afford health care and has to sleep in a room where there is a mattress on the floor? I have heard of students sharing a bedroom with six other siblings. It really doesn’t matter the situation. My point is as educators we need to keep in mind where some of our students come from. Before we jump into a student about them not completing their homework, check to see what kind of home life they may have. I am not saying to give them excuses, but perhaps this allows us more compassion into our hearts. I know after this past week and what my own child said; kids find value in family, love, and daily routine. Sometimes we may be the best part of their day!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

