Weathering the Storm

Last night CRWP had our Spring Showcase and I was asked to present my experiences with the writing project and how I have transformed my classroom since being a part of NWP and how I personally have changed as a writer.

First, I would like to say thank you to the co-directors of CRWP for asking me to give my insight about the writing project.  I hope it was encouraging to the new recruits for this summer’s writing project.

Second, I don’t want to share a whole lot on here today about other aspects of my personal life besides what NWP has done for me and continues to do for me.  Recently I was asked to step down as the head coach at the high school where I was coaching (girls varsity basketball), which is different from where I teach.  The reasons were bogus but I believe in doing what is best for the kids, so with that aside, here is what I truly want to say.

Back in February at our leadership retreat, I was at a crossroads as to wether I should continue coaching.  There were so many opportunities for me with NWP if I was willing to embrace them and something was tugging at me.  Though I wasn’t sure my heart was completely into coaching anymore, my wife and I decided that I should give it one more year.

The idea of me not coaching became the storm in my life for about 4 weeks.  I still have rain showers from time to time if you know what I mean.  Anyways, a lot of opportunities were being set before me with NWP and our own satellite site and I started to embrace them and run full steam ahead.

Ultimately the decision had been made for me to stop coaching.  Some might call it divine intervention, others might call it a ironic.  I am a firm believer in being an optimist and where one door closes, another one opens.  I know I am supposed to be doing something else right now and I believe it is embracing the writing project and giving it my all.

All in all, if it wasn’t for NWP and my CRWP family, I wouldn’t be doing what I am doing right now in my classroom and outside of my classroom.  I have so much confidence as a writer and an educator that I want the message to be spread.  NWP is worth while and is necessary for the future of children being competitive in this world and it is necessary so teachers can learn and receive the tools that are necessary for the classroom.

2 Comments on “Weathering the Storm”

  1. […] Jeremy Hyler – Weathering the Storm […]

  2. Kathee says:

    I’m so glad that you’ve become part of the Writing Project community! Interesting to read your story of how that happened. I look forward to reading your blog.


Leave a Reply

